Penalties and Fines in California
The penalties for driving without insurance in California include fines and impounding your vehicle. You can avoid these consequences by meeting California’s proof of financial responsibility requirements. Auto insurance is a requirement in California, and all motorists must carry proof of coverage while driving. Source URL, Source URL
If you are pulled over without proof of auto insurance or any other form of financial responsibility, you may face fines and/or a court may impound your vehicle until you can show proof of insurance. If you are caught driving without proof of insurance in California, you will pay a $100 fine. You will also have to pay additional fees and penalties of $450 for your first offense. Source URL, Source URL
Those found guilty of driving with no insurance in California can expect the following penalties to apply:
- First offense: A fine between $100 and $200
- Second (and subsequent) offense: A fine between $200 and $500
- Filing of an SR-22 certificate
- Possible suspension of the vehicle’s registration or license
- Reinstatement fees (Source URL)
If you drive a car in California without insurance, the DMV in California states you could:
- Be cited.
- Have your vehicle impounded.
- Have your vehicle impounded. (Source URL)
The penalties for driving without car insurance in California vary depending on whether it is your first or subsequent offense. Even for a first offense, your vehicle may be impounded.
In California, you’ll need “financial responsibility” to operate a motor vehicle. That means if you’re pulled over by law enforcement or you have an accident, you’ll be asked to provide proof of auto insurance. You’ll also have to have insurance to register or renew your vehicle registration.
Not having car insurance in California can also result in a suspension of your car’s registration if:
- The CA DMV is notified of your insurance cancellation and you have not replaced it within 45 days.
- Your California auto insurance information is not given to the DMV within 30 days of your car’s initial registration or transfer of ownership.
- You registered your car with false evidence of insurance.
Even if the accident is not your fault, driving without auto insurance puts you at risk for expensive medical bills. California is an at-fault state, which means that the other driver is responsible for any medical treatment and damages to your vehicle.
Minimum Required Auto Coverage in California
If you’re going to live in California, you’ll need to carry the minimum insurance requirements. Here are the current coverage limits for California’s minimum insurance options.
|Bodily Injury Liability||15,000/30,000||100,000/300,000|
|Property Damage Liability||5,000||100,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Not required||20,000/40,000|
|Medical Payments||Not required||5,000|
|Collision||Not required||500 deductible|
|Comprehensive||Not required||250 deductible|
According to the California Department of Insurance, California’s minimum requirement for insurance is liability car insurance. It’s the cheapest coverage in the United States, which ought to make buying the state minimum coverage a lot more affordable. However, this kind of coverage may not be enough to pay for new or costly automobiles.
However, it is possible for all parties to an accident to have some share of fault. A driver’s compensation may be reduced by the percent of the accident for which they have been deemed at-fault.
Additional sources indicate that the minimum auto insurance coverages for California include:
- Bodily injury liability: $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $5,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist bodily Injury*: $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist property damage*: $3,500 per accident
- $15,000 for a single death or injury
- $30,000 for death or injury to more than one person
- $5,000 for property damage
These are the minimum car insurance coverage requirements, but you should choose the coverage you need. If you need help determining how much coverage you need you can use our Coverage Calculator.
Rental Car Insurance in California
Most states require that rental car companies include the minimum coverage required by law. California is a key exception, however, as the state allows companies to rent out cars without providing any insurance.
Accidents without Insurance in California
If you get into an accident while driving without insurance in California, you will be cited and all the penalties will apply, no matter who is at fault.
If you’re in an accident, you’re at fault. California is an at-fault state. If you get into an accident without insurance, you could end up going bankrupt paying for your own and the other driver’s long-term expenses.
Income-based Car Insurance in California
Uninsured Drivers in California
According to Insurify, 15.2 percent of California drivers drive uninsured, which is higher than the national average. If you’re one of these uninsured drivers, you can get the best rates and coverage you need at a price that works for you.
If you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured driver in California, call your insurance company as soon as you can to notify them of the accident.
Risks and Penalties in Most States
Some states take driving without insurance more seriously than others, so you can expect to pay a steep penalty. In some states, you could face jail time for multiple violations. Even a one-day lapse in insurance coverage can result in a registration suspension in some states.
If you can get backdated insurance, it makes it harder for the authorities to identify those who are driving without legal insurance coverage. It also makes it easier for drivers to commit fraud and get away with driving without insurance.
You will face some major ramifications if you are in an accident or stopped by law enforcement without the proper insurance coverage in your state.
Penalties for no insurance vary by state but usually include:
- Large fines of $1,000 or more
- Jail time
- Community service
- Suspension or revocation of your driver’s license
- Suspension or revocation of your car registration
- Court appearances
- SR22 insurance requirement
Even if you do not cause any property damages or bodily injuries, you will be subjected to these penalties. If you are caught multiple times driving without auto insurance, the penalties will increase.
Some states require basic liability insurance, while others require more depending on the system they use for filing claims. If you allow your insurance policy to lapse, expect your registration to be suspended.
If you cause a collision and don’t have proof of insurance, the penalties are more severe than if you are fined for driving without insurance.
In most states, you will have your driver’s license and vehicle registration suspended if you are caught driving without car insurance. You may also be required to pay up to $1000 in fines for each subsequent violation.
The amount of time you have after you receive a ticket or violation for driving without insurance depends on the state. For example, you could receive a suspension and SR-22 requirement for driving uninsured in New York for about three years.