Car Insurance Requirements in Missouri
Since auto insurance is a requirement by Missouri law, you can face multiple penalties if you’re caught driving without it, including fines and suspension of your license and registration. Drivers in Missouri are required to maintain liability car insurance as well as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Source URL
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The state of Missouri has introduced harsh penalties for drivers who drive without auto insurance. Without insurance, most drivers are unable to pay for damages caused by an accident. Source URL
Penalties for driving in Missouri without the state minimum required insurance can be high. You can receive 4 points on your license, a fine of up to $300, jail time up to 15 days, and a license suspension. Each time your license is suspended for driving without insurance, the penalty increases:
- First offense: To reinstate your license, drivers must pay a $20 reinstatement fee.
- The driver may be supervised
- Second offense within two years: Your license is suspended for 90 days and you must pay a $200 reinstatement fee.
- Third and subsequent offenses: Your license is suspended for one year and you must pay a $400 reinstatement fee. Source URL, Source URL
Whether you are registering your vehicle or getting your driver’s license you are going to need car insurance to do it. You are also required to maintain continuous coverage thereafter so long as you are on Missouri’s roadways.
Risks of Uninsured Driver Accidents in Missouri
Uninsured motorist coverage is important in Missouri because not everyone carries insurance. If another driver doesn’t have insurance that can cover your medical bills, your uninsured coverage would pay for any injuries you sustained in the accident. Source URL
Coverage for Accidents Caused by Uninsured or Underinsured Drivers
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage: This type of coverage pays for medical bills if you are injured in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance. It’s estimated that 14 percent of Missourians are driving without insurance.
According to Missouri law, it’s illegal to drive without insurance. If you are caught driving without insurance, you could face a license suspension, license points, or even jail time.
If you are uninsured in Missouri, you have no legal right to pursue damages for both economic and non-economic damages. The only way around this is to prove that the other driver was driving under the influence. Source URL, Source URL, Source URL
Car insurance is a requirement in Missouri, but some drivers don’t have enough insurance to cover all accident-related expenses. Having uninsured coverage on your own policy means you can repair your car or go to the hospital without worrying about where you’ll get the money to pay your bills. Source URL
Driving Without Insurance in Missouri
If you are pulled over and fail to provide proof of insurance, you will receive a ticket for: “No Insurance” or “No Proof of Insurance” “Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility” or even if the car is insured. Source URL
Average Number of Uninsured Drivers
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance is also required in Missouri. However, not everyone will comply. According to recent numbers, Missouri has over the national average in uninsured drivers. Let’s look at the percentage of uninsured drivers:
- National: 13.0%
- Missouri: 14.0%
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance provides coverage for your medical payments and property damage if you are in an accident with an uninsured at-fault driver.
You must carry proof of car insurance when driving in Missouri. This can be a traditional insurance card or a digital version on a smartphone or other mobile device. Insurance cards should include the driver’s name, insurance policy number and vehicle(s) covered. According to the Missouri Department of Revenue, state residents are must show proof of insurance in the following situations:
- When registering or renewing a car
- When asked by a law enforcement official
- When applying for or renewing a driver’s license Source URL, Source URL
Missouri drivers are involved in auto accidents with drivers who have not maintained the required auto insurance coverage. This causes unpaid damage claims and higher insurance premium rates for all Missourians.
Proof of insurance in Missouri
These are just for the first offense, but in general, Missouri is a relaxed state when it comes to uninsured motorists. Having the right insurance can assure your safety.
Missouri allows different types of proof of insurance, which include the original paper copy and electronic evidence as well. As long as your proof of insurance displays the following things, it is usually accepted:
- Safety Rating
- Your name and the name of any other drivers under that policy
- Expiration date
As long as you have this, you will never run into any issues.
According to the Missouri Department of Revenue, you must keep some proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. If a law enforcement officer asks for proof of insurance and you cannot show it, the officer may issue you a ticket.
Acceptable forms of proof of insurance are:
- Electronic/digital copy of your insurance card issued by your provider
- Valid liability insurance ID cards
- Valid insurance binder (a temporary form of car insurance)
How Long Does Driving Without Insurance Tickets Stay on Your Record?
Missouri has no maximum look-back period for driving without insurance. That means your conviction remains on your driving record for life. Source URL