What is the minimum required car insurance coverage in Texas?
The Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA) allows high-risk drivers to maintain minimum car insurance coverage.
Texas law requires all drivers to have at least $30,000 in minimum auto insurance coverage per injured person and up to $60,000 per accident. Additionally, drivers must have coverage for property damage of at least a minimum of $25,000.
The state of Texas also has minimum liability insurance coverage, also known as minimum coverage.
What is the requirement of having car insurance in Texas?
How much coverage do you need? If you’re driving a leased or loan vehicle, you may need full coverage auto insurance. If you own a luxury vehicle, the minimum Texas auto insurance might not include enough coverage for more costly repairs.
What is the average cost of car insurance in Texas?
According to Nerd Wallet, you can expect to pay about $1,555 per year for full coverage or $664 per year if you have minimum coverage in Texas. This is higher than the national average, but less than the minimum coverage, which is around $600 per year.
Texas car insurance laws only require drivers to carry a minimum of $25,000 in property damage coverage. However, if you are involved in a multi-vehicle accident, you can easily exceed this amount.
What is the penalty for driving without proof of insurance in Texas?
If you are caught driving without the minimum auto insurance required in Texas, you can face up to $1,100 in fees.